T. Ark Monroe

T. Ark Monroe, III

Phone:(501) 688.8833
Location: Little Rock
Bar Admissions: Arkansas, District of Columbia

Mr. Monroe has practiced insurance regulatory law for over 40 years, serving the insurance industry with his broad experience and extensive legal knowledge. He regularly represents insurance company clients in Arkansas, and companies domiciled in other states, in complex multi-state financial and market conduct examinations. Mr. Monroe represents insurance companies in acquisitions subject to the holding company act in multiple jurisdictions, and has managed and lobbied in the Arkansas Legislature on complex insurance legislation. In addition to insurance regulatory work, he practices energy and utility law, representing electric cooperatives, gas companies and alternative energy suppliers before the Arkansas Legislature and the Arkansas Public Service Commission.


  • Actively manages and monitors issues on behalf of clients at the NAIC and has represented the District of Columbia Insurance Department in rehabilitating a health plan domiciled in the District of Columbia.
  • Lobbyist at the Arkansas Legislature for several regulated industries. As a lobbyist, he has managed and lobbied for legislation on matters including licensing electric generation plants and electric deregulation.
  • Served as lead attorney for the first captive insurance company licensed in the state.
  • Served as the Insurance Commissioner for the State of Arkansas, and the Legislative Director for United States Senator Dale Bumpers in Washington, D.C.
  • Experience in the private sector serving as Senior Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary for Union Life Insurance Company in Little Rock.


  • University of Arkansas School of Law J.D. (1967)
  • Hendrix College B.A. (1964)

Professional Recognition

  • The Best Lawyers in America©:  Administrative/Regulatory Law (2007-2019)
  • The Best Lawyers in America©:  Corporate Law (2007-2019)
  • The Best Lawyers in America©:  Government Relations Practice (2007-2019)
  • The Best Lawyers in America©:  Insurance Law (2007-2019)
  • Best Lawyers®:  Administrative/Regulatory Law "Lawyer of the Year" (2016)
  • James H. McKenzie Professionalism Award from Arkansas Bar Foundation and the Arkansas Bar Association in recognition of sustained excellence through integrity, character, leadership to the profession and the community (2011-2012)


  • Advisory Board Member, Pryor Center of Arkansas Visual and Oral History at the University of Arkansas
  • Board Member, University of Arkansas Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences Advisory Board
  • Board of Trustees, Hendrix College, Conway, Arkansas
  • Board of Directors, Arkansas Alumni Association, University of Arkansas
  • Board of Directors, Arkansas Arts Center
  • Board of Directors, Arkansas Chapter of the National Conference of Community and Justice
  • Board of Directors, Pulaski County Bar Association
  • Board of Directors, Arkansas Repertory Theater
  • Member, American Bar Association
  • Member, Arkansas Bar Association
  • Member, Pulaski County Bar Association
  • Member, Association of Life Insurance Counsel
  • Member, Federation of Regulatory Counsel