Little Rock
Rogers
Jonesboro
Austin
MitchellWilliamsLaw.com

Mitchell, Williams, Selig, Gates & Woodyard, P.L.L.C.



Walter Wright, Jr. wwright@mwlaw.com (501) 688.8839

Arkansas Environmental Personnel Moves: Ms. Elaine Edwards, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (Little Rock District) Chief of Regulatory Division Announces Retirement

01/28/2020

Ms. Elaine Edwards recently announced she will retire from the Little Rock District of the United States Corps of Engineers ("Corps") on January 31st.

Ms. Edwards currently serves as Chief of the Regulatory Division of the Corps' Little Rock District.

The Regulatory Division of the Corps' Little Rock District is responsible for evaluating permit applications for essentially all construction activities that incur in the nation's waters in the District. Such waters include jurisdictional wetlands.

Permitting programs administered by the Regulatory Division include:

- Section 10 of the Rivers and Harbors Act of 1899
- Section 404 of the Clean Water Act

The Little Rock District encompasses portions of both Arkansas and Missouri.

Little Rock District Regulatory Division staff include:

- Engineers
- Biologists
- Archeologists
- Natural Resource Management Professionals
- Legal Instruments Examiner
- Budget Analyst

Ms. Edwards also serves on the Regulatory Board of Directors for Missouri and for the Southwestern Division of the Corps.

Degrees obtained by Ms. Edwards include:

Bachelor of Science Degree in Civil Engineering with Honors – University of Arkansas at Fayetteville

Prior employment includes:

Draftsman for a consulting firm during college

- Engineer technician for Arkansas Soil and Water Conservation Commission during college
- Civil Engineer for consulting firm

Corps positions prior to becoming Regulatory Division Chief include:

- Environmental Engineer
- Deputy Chief of the Regulatory Division/Chief of the Evaluation Branch

Recognition with the Corps includes:

- Little Rock District Regulator of the Year
- Regulatory member of the Little Rock District Planning Team of the Year
- Regulatory Member of the Southwestern Division Planning Team of the Year
- Bronze De Fluery Medal
- Commander's Award for Civilian Service
- Various performance awards