Little Rock
Rogers
Jonesboro
Austin
MitchellWilliamsLaw.com

Mitchell, Williams, Selig, Gates & Woodyard, P.L.L.C.



Walter Wright, Jr. wwright@mwlaw.com (501) 688.8839

Task Force on Agricultural Air Quality Research: U.S. Department of Agriculture Announces Appointment of 26 Members

01/29/2021

The United States Department of Agriculture ("USDA") announced in a January 19th news release the appointment of 26 members to serve on the Task Force for Agricultural Air Quality Research ("Task Force").

USDA states that the members will serve terms of up to two years beginning January 4, 2021, and ending in 2023.

The Task Force was originally created by the 1996 Farm Bill. The stated objective is to promote USDA research efforts and identify cost-effective ways that the agriculture industry can improve air quality. It advises the Secretary of Agriculture on air quality and its relationship to agriculture based on sound scientific findings.

The Task Force has historically included:

- Agricultural producers
- Agricultural industry representatives
- Researchers and scientists
- Members of the health and regulatory committees

Potential topics for the Task Force referenced in the news release include:

- Particulate matter
- Greenhouse gases
- Carbon sequestration
- Bioenergy

The Chief of USDA's Natural Resources Conservation Service chairs the Task Force.

The newly appointed members of the Task Force include:

- Dr. Brent W. Auvermann Amarillo, Texas
- Mr. Robert V. Avant, Jr. Taylor, Texas
- Dr. Robert T. Burns Maryville, Tenn.
- Mr. Brian F. Cochrane Kahlotus, Wash.
- Dr. Jeffrey L. Collett, Jr. Fort Collins, Colo.
- Mr. Manuel Cunha, Jr. Clovis, Calif.

- Dr. Nichole Embertson Bellingham, Wash.
- Ms. Andrea L. Foglesong Timnath, Colo.
- Mr. J. Kelley Green Austin, Texas
- Dr. April Leytem Hailey, Idaho
- Dr. Hong Li Hockessin, Del.
- Mr. Gerald May St. Louis
- Mrs. Lara Moody Upper Marlboro, Md.
- Mr. Kevin G. Rogers Laveen, Ariz.
- Dr. Joseph Rudek Wynnewood, Pa.
- Ms. Annette H. Sharp Baton Rouge, La.
- Ms. Sally L. Shaver Cary, N.C.
- Dr. Bryan W. Shaw Lexington, Texas
- Mr. Samir Sheikh Fresno, Calif.
- Dr. Philip J. Silva Bowling Green, Ky.
- Mr. Jon Slutsky Wellington, Colo.
- Ms. Marguerite Tan Taylor, Ariz.
- Mr. James A. Vaughn Forsyth, Ga.
- Dr. Rodney T. Venterea Mounds View, Minn.
- Dr. Lingjuan Wang-Li Cary, N.C.
- Mr. John Weir Orlando, Okla.

A copy of the news release can be downloaded here.