Little Rock
Rogers
Jonesboro
Austin
MitchellWilliamsLaw.com

Mitchell, Williams, Selig, Gates & Woodyard, P.L.L.C.

Arkansas Conservation District Boards Elections: Arkansas Natural Resources Commission Announces Approval of 25 Elections



Walter Wright, Jr. wwright@mwlaw.com (501) 688.8839

04/14/2022

The Arkansas Department of Agriculture's Natural Resources Commission ("ANRC") issued a news release announcing approval of 25 Conservation District Board elections.

The ANRC approved the elections at its March 16th meeting.

ANRC is also stated to have appointed four new board members and five board members were reappointed to Conservation District Boards.

Conservation districts are political subdivisions of the State of Arkansas. They are created by a popular vote of resident landowners for the purpose of conserving land and resources as authorized by Act 197 of the 1937 Arkansas General Assembly. These local governmental entities' responsibility includes the management of soil and water resources.

The conservation districts are governed by a board of five directors. Further, two directors are appointed by the ANRC. Three are elected by resident landowners.

The State of Arkansas has 75 local conservation districts.

The ANRC was given the responsibility for developing, maintaining, and enforcing rules to govern conservation districts. It has promulgated a rule that is titled "Rules Governing Conservation Districts."

A copy of the ANRC news release that provides the results from the 25 Conservation District Board elections can be found here. The news release also identifies appointed new board members along with those that were reappointed.