MITCHELL WILLIAMS

Little Rock Rogers Jonesboro Austin **MitchellWilliamsLaw.com**

Mitchell, Williams, Selig, Gates & Woodyard, P.L.L.C.



Walter Wright, Jr. wwright@mwlaw.com (501) 688.8839

Arkansas Conservation Districts: Arkansas Department of Agriculture Natural Resources Division Announces District Director Appointments/Reappointments

10/18/2022

The Arkansas Department of Agriculture's Natural Resources Commission ("NRC") approved two conservation district director appointments and five reappointments.

The appointments/reappointments were approved at the NRC September 28th meeting.

Arkansas Conservation Districts are political subdivisions of the State of Arkansas. They are created by a popular vote of resident landowners for the purpose of conserving land and resources as authorized by Act No. 197 of the Arkansas General Assembly. Their responsibility includes the management of soil and water resources. Each district is governed by a Board of five directors, with two directors appointed by NRC and three elected by resident landowners.

The two districts appointing new districts include:

- Lafayette County Stephen Allen
- Prairie County Sam Prislovsky

Four districts reappointing directors include:

- Johnson County Robert Kimbrough and Jason James
- Lafayette County Billy Grimmett
- Ouachita County Allen Russell
- Pike County Billy Maroon

A copy of the NRC news release can be downloaded here.