Little Rock
Rogers
Jonesboro
Austin
MitchellWilliamsLaw.com

Mitchell, Williams, Selig, Gates & Woodyard, P.L.L.C.

Arkansas Water Provider Task Force: Initial Meeting Scheduled for August 30th



Walter Wright, Jr. wwright@mwlaw.com (501) 688.8839

08/28/2017

The first meeting of the Water Provider Legislative Task Force of the Arkansas General Assembly ("Task Force") has been scheduled for Wednesday, August 30th at 1:30 p.m. in room B, 5th Floor of the MAC Building.

The Task Force was created by Act 1056 during the 89th Arkansas General Assembly.

Act 1056 declared a number of findings regarding water utilities provision of water to state residents. Issues associated with areas served, ability to operate monopolies, importance of water supplies to economic development, requirements to supply out-of-area- customers, and other matters are addressed.

Click here to access a previous post which provides a more detailed discussion of Act 1056.

The legislature mandated the creation of a Water Provider Legislative Task Force to study a number of related issues and provide conclusions in a report to be submitted by January 1, 2019.

Members of the Task Force include:

Legislative Members	Non-Legislative Members
President Pro Tempore of the Senate or his or her designee Senator Scott Flippo	Executive Director of the Arkansas Natural Resources Commission or his or her designee Mark Bennett, Chief of Water Development
Speaker of the House or his or her designee Representative Justin Boyd	Executive Director of the Arkansas Economic Development Commission or his or her designee Alexandra Johnston, Division Director, Rural Services Jean Noble (to serve while Ms. Johnston on maternity leave)
Chair of the Senate Committee on City, County and Local Affairs or his or her designee Senator Alan Clark	Chair of the Arkansas State Chamber of Commerce or his or her designee Tom Fox

Chair of the House Committee on City, County, and Local Affairs or his or her designee Representative Tim Lemmons	Member or staff person of the Arkansas Municipal League Appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives Jack Critcher, Legislative Liaison
Member of the Minority party of the General Assembly Appointed by President Pro Tempore and the Speaker Representative Fred Love	Member or staff person of the Association of Arkansas Counties Appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate Judge Rick Davis
Member of the Majority party of the General Assembly Appointed by President Pro Tempore and the Speaker Senator Ronald Caldwell	Active Arkansas home builder Appointed by the Governor Barry Weathers, Owner of Weathers Construction
	Member of the Arkansas Rural Water Association Designated by Chief Executive Officer of the Arkansas Rural Water Association Dennis Sternberg, ARWA CEO
	Member of the Arkansas Water Environment Association Designated by President of the Arkansas Water Environment Association Jennifer Enos, Wastewater Facilities Director
	Member of the Arkansas Water and Wastewater Managers Association Designated by the President of the Arkansas Water and Wastewater Managers Association Daniel K. Dawson, General Manager, Searcy Water Utilities
	Member of the Arkansas Water Works and Water Environment Association Designated by the Chair of the Arkansas Water Works and Water Environment Association Alan Fortenberry, P.E., CEO, Beaver Water District
	Member of Central Arkansas Water Designated by Chief Executive Officer of Central Arkansas Water

Dale Kimbrow, Manager of Planning, Regionalism & Future Water Source
Consumer advocate with water conservation knowledge or interest from the staff or membership of the Arkansas Citizens First Congress or the staff's or membership's designee Appointed by the Governor Barry Haas

Copies of the meeting notice, Task Force appointments, Act 1056, and Task Force Rules of Procedures can be downloaded here.